G.O.A.T. Central
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Too big for nursing!!

4 posters

Go down

Too big for nursing!!  Empty Too big for nursing!!

Post by Thefunnyfarm Fri Dec 09, 2011 6:41 pm

So this is probably an odd question but is it neccesary to wean your kids? will they eventually do it on their own? I bought a mother and daughter combo (nigerian dwarf) with the intent of letting them go thru a normal baby eat/mama feed cycle and then I would breed the mama (Ava) this fall. The doeling (autumn) was born in July. So anyways long story short Ava is still allowing Autumn to nurse and Ava is going into her heat cycles regularly and I'd like to breed her but I dont know if that is too much for her or if she would dry up and force Autumn to stop? Its almost to the point of looking silly as Autumn is getting quite large!! I am new to breeding goats but really want to start having them be beneficial for my family Smile

Thefunnyfarm

Back to top Go down

Too big for nursing!!  Empty Re: Too big for nursing!!

Post by LivinWright Farm Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:12 pm

In our experience, it would be perfectly fine to have Ava bred... she should just force Autumn to wean on her own, once she knows she has been bred.

If she doesn't, you can tape Ava's teats with medical tape(an X over the ends is usually sufficient) to make Autumn want to stop attempting to nurse.
You could also, if you have a lockable stall, keep Ava & Autumn seperated for about 1-2 weeks. When that time is up, Ava shouldn't allow Autumn to nurse again.
LivinWright Farm
LivinWright Farm
Admin

http://livinwrightfarm.weebly.com

Back to top Go down

Post by MrsDieselEngineer Sat Dec 10, 2011 10:18 am

If you breed Ava, she'll wean the baby off herself and it'll make it easy Smile
MrsDieselEngineer
MrsDieselEngineer

http://www.grownupnaturally.com/index.html

Back to top Go down

Post by Thefunnyfarm Sat Dec 10, 2011 1:13 pm